Kenneth Crews on e-reserves and fair use in new workshop

For Immediate Release
Tue, 08/14/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman

CHICAGO —ALA Editions announces the first event in an exciting new workshop series, Crews on Copyright: E-Reserves and Fair Use with Kenneth D. Crews.

In May 2012, a U.S. District Court ruled for the first time on the application and scope of fair use for nonprofit educational pursuits and for e-reserves in general. This landmark ruling (Cambridge University Press v. Becker) carries implications for all libraries, presenting new guideposts for balancing copyright with fair use. In this workshop, copyright expert Kenneth D. Crews will analyze Judge Orinda Evans’ opinion, gauging the decision’s impact on e-reserves while answering such questions as:

  • What exactly is the court’s ruling?
  • How might it apply to other libraries and universities?
  • Is now the right time to start rethinking libraries’ fair use policy?

This is first of a series of occasional webinars called Crews on Copyright, in which he will address a specific application of copyright law, complementing his best-selling book, "Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators: Creative Strategies and Practical Solutions."

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both the individual and group rates. The workshop lasts 90 minutes and takes place on at 2:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. CDT/12:30 p.m. MDT/11:30 a.m. PDT on Wednesday, Sept. 5, 2012.

Kenneth D. Crews has specialized for more than 25 years in copyright issues as they relate to education, libraries and research. He directs the Copyright Advisory Office at Columbia University and teaches in the Columbia Law School. Dr. Crews has been a professor of law, library science and business and held a named professorship in law at Indiana University. At IU he established the first office in the country specifically addressing copyright policy issues at universities. Numerous colleges and universities have called upon his services, as have the U.S. State Department and the World Intellectual Property Organization. He was the first recipient of ALA’s L. Ray Patterson Award.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.