K12 librarians: Find an e-book platform that works for you! New workshop with Buffy Hamilton

For Immediate Release
Wed, 05/30/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO —ALA TechSource announces a new workshop: Choosing an E-Book Platform that Works for Your K12 Library with Buffy Hamilton. This workshop will take place on Wednesday, Aug. 8.

If you're a school librarian tasked with building an e-book collection, it can be hard to know where to start. In this new workshop, school librarian and technology expert Buffy J. Hamilton will guide you through the process of selecting the right e-book platform for your library’s needs. Beginning with a survey of the current marketplace for e-book platforms, Hamilton will disentangle the process of figuring out what works best for your situation and your budget.

Topics include:

  • Key features of major e-book providers in the K12 market
  • Free and open-source portals for digital content
  • Considerations for licensing/terms of use
  • Accessibility for readers who may be visually challenged
  • How decisions by major publishers to participate in the e-book market may influence your platform options

This workshop will last 90 minutes and will take place at 4:30 p.m. Eastern/3:30 p.m. Central/2:30 p.m. Mountain/1:30 p.m. Pacific on Wednesday, Aug. 8.

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store. Registration is available at both individual and group rates.

Buffy J. Hamilton is librarian at Creekview High School in Canton, Ga., where she introduced Media 21, a participatory, transliterate learning environment for research projects. She received a Cutting-Edge Service Award from the ALA's Office for Information and Technology Policy. A 2011 Library Journal Mover and Shaker, Buffy was also named one of Tech & Learning’s 30 EdTech Leaders of the Future. She blogs at The Unquiet Librarian and ALA Learning.

ALA TechSource Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA TechSource is a publishing imprint of the American Library Association. ALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and the ALA TechSource Blog.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide. 

ALA Units: