Create your library brand - new workshop will show you how

For Immediate Release
Tue, 05/29/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO — ALA Editions announces an exciting new workshop, Creating Your Library Brand with Elisabeth Doucett.

To stand out in today’s information-saturated world, libraries need a clear and compelling story about why they matter to their communities.  They must then tell that story in such a way as to break through the information clutter and be heard.  In this workshop, librarian and marketing expert Elisabeth Doucett will take you through a step-by-step process showing you how to define your library’s story and develop your brand.  Including suggestions for using marketing tools, and tips for answering frequently asked questions, Doucett’s strategies will help you create a library brand that will bring more patrons through the door.

Topics include:

  • What is branding and why does it matter?
  • Establishing your target audience
  • Getting started
  • How to strengthen your brand through repetition and adjusting to changes

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both the individual and group rates. The workshop lasts 90 minutes and takes place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific on Wednesday, July 18, 2012.

Elisabeth Doucett is director of the Curtis Memorial Library in Brunswick, Maine. She holds an MLS from Simmons College and an MBA in marketing from the J. L. Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University.  Author of "What They Don’t Teach You in Library School" and "Creating Your Library Brand," her strategy and marketing proficiencies were developed over more than a decade spent in the consumer packaged goods industry as a marketing director at Quaker Oats and Dunkin’ Donuts and as a brand manager at Kraft Foods in the Maxwell House Coffee Division. She has given presentations on marketing and branding to many different library groups, including the Massachusetts Library Association, the Northeast Massachusetts Regional Library System, the Maine Public Library Directors’ Institute, the Long Island Library Resources Council and at the 2010 “Your Library Your Community” conference sponsored by OHIONET.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide. 

ALA Units: