New workshop: Learn to effectively serve the blind and visually impaired in your library

For Immediate Release
Tue, 04/03/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman

CHICAGO - ALA Editions announces an exciting new workshop, Serving Blind and Visually Impaired Patrons at the Library with Yolyndra Green. The workshop takes place on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific and lasts 90 minutes.

In this workshop, Yolyndra Green addresses the most important things librarians need to know about serving blind and visually impaired patrons. The workshop covers the challenges faced by this population in using libraries and will also provide an overview of the resources available to librarians to assist them, including many that are free. Armed with the knowledge provided by this workshop, participants will feel confident meeting the needs of these library users.

Topics include:

  • How to understand the basics of visual impairments and the different types of visual impairments that exist
  • Best customer service practices for patrons with visual impairments
  • Strategies for dealing with the most common situations that occur when working with visually impaired patrons
  • Information on common technological tools that exist for visually impaired patrons and an overview of how to use them
  • Free resources available for librarians
  • Resources for further learning

About the Instructor

Yolyndra Green, PhD is a writer, researcher and instructor. She has more than 10 years of library experience, including university, public and community college libraries. She is an advocate for individuals with visual impairments and is actively involved with organizations that seek to increase general awareness of issues surrounding vision loss. 

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both the individual and group rates. The workshop takes place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific and lasts 90 minutes.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a handsā€on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.