Learn the essentials of library security in new workshop

For Immediate Release
Tue, 04/03/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman

CHICAGO — ALA Editions announces an exciting new workshop, 12 Essentials for a Safe and Secure Library with Warren Graham. The workshop takes place  at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific on Wednesday, June 6, 2012 and lasts 90 minutes.

Libraries can maintain their best traditions of openness and public access by creating an unobtrusive yet effective security plan.  In this workshop Warren Graham, a library security manager with decades of experience, will guide you through a set of proven procedures to prepare you to handle a variety of scenarios, ranging from the common to the unexpected. Doing away with the need for bulky manuals and complicated protocols, Graham will focus on 12 fundamentals for developing an effective safety and security program in your library.  

Topics include:

  • Dangerous assumptions that lead to complacency
  • Clear and concise rules for fostering confidence during an incident
  • Practicing quiet awareness with the 30-30-30 method
  • How to develop your security checklist

Here’s what librarians are saying about Warren Graham’s presentations: 
 
"The humor in Warren’s presentation made it easy for the staff to absorb the serious training techniques. He described serious situations that we have all experienced."
Sharon Smith, regional manager west
Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library

"Warren presented a forthright, informative and entertaining workshop for our staff."
Marvelene Beach, director,
Ocean County Library, New Jersey
 
"Warren Graham speaks about a difficult topic - library security - using humor and practicality."
Carol Mueller
Southfield Public Library

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both the individual and group rates. The workshop takes place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific on Wednesday, June 6, 2012 and lasts 90 minutes.

A security professional for more than 25 years, including 17 years as the security manager of the Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, N. C., Warren Graham left the library in 2006 to establish Warren Davis Graham Training and Consulting. Graham has made numerous presentations and is a leading speaker internationally on practical day-to-day library security procedures.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.