Learn all about the latest gadgets and gizmos in workshop with Jason Griffey

For Immediate Release
Tue, 03/06/2012

Contact:

CHICAGO - ALA TechSource announces a new iteration of Jason Griffey's popular workshop Gadgets in the Library: A Practical Guide to Personal Electronics for Librarians. This two-part workshop will take place on Thursdays, May 10 and 17, 2012 at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific. Each session will last 90 minutes.

From the iPad to eReaders, gadgets are everywhere. As these personal electronic devices become more and more ubiquitous in everyday life, it’s essential that libraries are fluent in the language of these devices. Whether your library wants to make use of these items in its services or purchase them to lend out to patrons, this interactive workshop will give you the foundation you for bringing your library into the future through gadgets.

Session 1: Tablets and eReaders
Thursday, May 17, 2:30 p.m. – 4 p.m. Eastern

This session will cover the following topics:

  • Why do we care?
  • Operating Systems vs Devices
  • iOS & Android
  • Circulation & Policy

Session 2: E-Readers continued and Future Tech
Thursday, May 17, 2:30 p.m. – 4 p.m. Eastern

This session will cover the following topics:

  • More on eReaders
  • 3D printing and hackerspaces
  • Discussion on best practices
  • Wrap up

 

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both individual and group rates. 

Jason Griffey is an associate professor and head of library information technology at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. His latest book, "Mobile Technology and Libraries," is now available as a part of Neal Schuman’s Tech Set. His previous book, "Library Blogging," with Karen A Coombs, is available through Amazon. He can be stalked obsessively at www.jasongriffey.net and at Pattern Recognition, his personal blog. He is the author of the American Libraries Perpetual Beta blog and is also a columnist for the ALA Techsource blog. He was named one of Library Journal’s Movers and Shakers in 2009 and is regularly invited to speak on libraries, the social economy, mobile technology, and other technology-related issues.

ALA TechSource Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a handsā€on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA TechSource is a publishing imprint of the American Library Association. ALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and the ALA TechSource Blog.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.