New Earth-Week workshop shows how to Green Your Library

For Immediate Release
Tue, 02/21/2012

Contact:

CHICAGO - ALA Editions announces a new workshop, Greening Your Library: Save Money and the Environment with Kathryn Miller. This workshop will take place at 2:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. CDT/12:30 p.m. MDT/11:30 a.m. PDT, on Wednesday, April 18 and lasts 90 minutes.

Your library is vital to connecting citizens with the knowledge and tools to change habits and lessen our impact on the Earth’s limited resources, and it all starts with leading by example. In this workshop Kathryn Miller, author of "Public Libraries Going Green," will discuss practical ideas for how to become green, teach green and lead green.  Miller will introduce environmentally-friendly, money-saving initiatives that fit your existing building and services. Ideas for hands-on activities, such as rain barrels or butterfly gardens, will help you raise awareness and get your community involved.

Topics include: 

  • What it means to be green;
  • Ideas for your action plan;
  • Socially responsible collection management, from purchase to disposal;
  • Program ideas for children, young adults and adults.

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both the individual and group rates. 

Kathryn Miller is assistant vice president of academic resources at Argosy University in Orlando, Florida.  Author of ALA Editions’ "Public Libraries Going Green," she is a frequent presenter on the topic  of green libraries, including a presentation for the community development group Sustainable Pittsburgh in 2011. She has worked in academic and public libraries.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a handsā€on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.