New workshop will show public librarians how to effectively manage electronic resources

For Immediate Release
Tue, 01/24/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO - ALA TechSource announces an exciting new workshop, Managing Electronic Resources in Public Libraries with Michael Santangelo.

Whether you’re launching or adding to your digital collection, this new workshop will show you how to build and manage a thriving collection. With sound management of electronic resources, you will make better purchasing decisions and offer more content to your community. Michael Santangelo’s work at the Brooklyn Public Library has contributed to downloadable circulation, including e-books and music, nearly doubling in a one-year period.  A sought-after speaker at both library and publishing conferences, Santangelo will describe how to simplify and implement procedures that can otherwise seem daunting. 

Topics include:

  • Prioritizing your electronic resources budget
  • Analyzing usage of your electronic resources
  • Understanding and negotiating contract terms
  • Selecting and implementing an Electronic Resources Management System (ERMS)
  • Keeping your staff informed of changes in your electronic resources collections
  • Staying current with new developments in electronic resources

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store. You can purchase registration at both individual and group rates. This two-part workshop consists of two 60-minute sessions that take place on at 1 pm Eastern/Noon Central/11 a.m. Mountain/10 a.m. Pacific on Wednesdays, March 7 and 14.

Michael Santangelo is the electronic resource analyst at Brooklyn Public Library. He was named a Library JournalMover and Shaker in 2011 for his work, which included a rapid and dramatic expansion of the electronic collection at the library.

ALA TechSource Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA TechSource is a publishing imprint of the American Library AssociationALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and the ALA TechSource Blog.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.

ALA Units: