New workshop: Create Presentations that Don't Put People to Sleep

For Immediate Release
Tue, 01/24/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO - ALA Editions announces an exciting new workshop, Creating Presentations that Don't Put People to Sleep with Maurice Coleman.

Learn how to banish that barrage of yawns, whether presenting to patrons, staff or the board of directors. The always engaging Maurice Coleman will show you how to craft presentations that are memorable for the right reasons. An experienced trainer and host of the popular T is for Training podcast, Coleman will share what he has learned from his decades of presentation experience, covering the entire process from planning to delivery. 

Topics include:

  • How to avoid the common pitfalls of poor presentations
  • Understanding yourself and your topic
  • Organizing presentations with a laser focus on what you want the audience to know
  • What presenters need to know about design
  • Surviving disasters with back-up plans

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both the individual and group rates. The workshop lasts 90 minutes and takes place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific on Thursday, March 29, 2012.

Maurice Coleman is the technical trainer at Harford County (Md.) Public Library and has 20 years’ experience in training for a wide range of audiences. He has presented at numerous conferences on topics such as digital personal branding, technology implementation, presentation and training skills, community development and effectively using social media. Host of the library training podcast T is for Training, he was named a 2010 Library Journal Mover and Shaker and received the Citizens for Maryland Libraries Davis McCarn Technology Award. You can find Maurice on twitter under the handle @BaldGeekInMD.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.

ALA Units: