Free Midwinter tech wrap-up will feature Jason Griffey, Sue Polanka and Marshall Breeding

For Immediate Release
Tue, 01/24/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGOALA TechSource is happy to announce that we're continuing our free, conference-wrapping webinars with The 2012 ALA TechSource Midwinter Tech Wrapup. Our expert panel will present their observations and analysis of the top technology trends from the conference, as well as what they see as the implications for libraries.

The ALA Midwinter Meeting provides a fantastic opportunity to reflect on how technology is continuing to transform the library world. Between the exhibition floor and the variety of technology-related events, the conference can provide attendees with an overview of where library technology is and where it may be going. Of course, for various reasons, many librarians won't be able to attend, and many who do will find themselves spread so thin that they cannot attend some of the technology-related events. 

The webinar, which will take place at 1 p.m. EST/Noon CST/11 a.m. MST/10 a.m. PST on Monday, Jan. 30, will feature a fantastic three-person panel :

  • Jason Griffey, head of library information technology, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga, and blogger for ALA TechSource.
  • Marshall Breeding, director for innovative technologies and research, Vanderbilt University Libraries, library automation writer and expert.
  • Sue Polanka , head of reference and instruction at the Wright State University Libraries in Dayton, Ohio, vice president/president elect of the Academic Library Association of Ohio and author/moderator of No Shelf Required.

Register now for this Free Event! The registration page is at http://bit.ly/zKq6S8 

 

Please keep in mind that attendance for the actual event is limited to 1,000 people. If you can't attend the live event, the full archive will be posted to the TechSource blog within 24 hours. 

 

ALA TechSource is a publishing imprint of the American Library AssociationALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and the ALA TechSource Blog.

ALA Units: