2012 Schneider Family Book Awards recipients named

For Immediate Release
Mon, 01/23/2012


Macey Morales

Media Relations Manager

American Library Association



DALLAS – The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 Schneider Family Book Awards, which honor an author or illustrator for the artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. The award was announced today during the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Dallas, Jan. 20 - 24.

Recipients are selected in three categories: ages 0 – 8, ages 9 – 13 and ages 14 – 18. Winners will receive $5,000 and a framed plaque, which will be presented in Anaheim, Calif., during the ALA Annual Conference in June.

The Jury chose not to award a book in the category for children ages 0 – 8.  No submissions were deemed worthy for the award.


For the category of books for children age 9 – 13 the jury chose two winners listed alphabetically by author:

 “close to famous,” written byJoan Bauer and published by Viking, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group.

Twelve-year-old Foster dreams of growing up to become a famous celebrity chef despite her reading disability. Can the quirky townsfolk of tiny Culpepper help Foster succeed?

“Wonderstruck: A Novel in Words and Pictures,” written by Brian Selznick and published by Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic.

Rose and Ben are deaf children living 50 years and worlds apart, yet both marvel and connect with the world around them. The American Museum of Natural History links their separate stories – one narrated in text, the other through cinematic illustrations.


For the category of books for children age 14 – 18 the jury chose “The Running Dream,” written by Wendelin Van Draanen and published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

When sixteen-year-old track star Jessica loses her leg in an accident, she is devastated believing she will never run again. Rehabilitation forces Jessica to confront disabilities and rethink her physical limitations. 

 “All three books chosen for the award not only share good, well written stories, but they also provide youth who have disabilities – and those who don’t – with a positive and accurate portrayal of the disability experience,” said Award Chair Marilyn Irwin.

Members of the 2012 Schneider Family Book Award committee are: Chair Marilyn M. Irwin, Indiana University- Indianapolis IUPUI, Bloomington, Ind.; Julie A. Cummins, Canandaigua, N.Y.; Jill Garcia, National Library Services, Beltsville, Md.; Annette Y. Goldsmith, University of Washington, Los Angeles; Barbara Klipper, Ferguson Library, Stamford, Conn.; Judy T. Nelson, Pierce County Library System, Tacoma, Wash.; and Amy E. Sears, Teaneck (N.J.). Public Library.


The American Library Association is the oldest and largest library association in the world with approximately 60,000 members.  Its mission is to provide leadership for the development, promotion and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all.

For more information on the Schneider Family Book Award and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit www.ala.org/yma.