New ALA Editions Workshop will kick off a year of professional development for managers

For Immediate Release
Wed, 11/09/2011

Contact:

Dan Freeman

CHICAGO - ALA Editions announces an exciting new workshop, Be a Great Boss: The Kickoff to Your Year of Learning with Cathy Hakala-Ausperk.

Whether you are a new or veteran manager or supervisor, you can take charge of your personal development and discover what you can do to be a great boss! This four-part workshop complements Hakala-Ausperk's best-selling ALA Editions book "Be a Great Boss." Your purchase includes the eEditions e-book, featuring the complete text of the print edition in PDF format. Following the month-by-month organization of the book, this workshop will show you how to  

  • Create your own action plan for the duration of the workshop and how to extend your independent learning afterward
  • Cultivate an attitude that instills confidence
  • Win over key stakeholders at your institution
  • Develop and nurture a staff you can depend on

Perhaps you’re a new manager with little or no training. Or maybe you’re dealing with a delicate personnel issue but have nobody you can ask for advice. Using the webinar format, noted author and speaker Hakala-Ausperk will be your mentor, leading you and your fellow participants through collaborative learning with exercises and guided discussions. 

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store. The workshop takes place in four parts, each one a 60 minute session that will take place at 4 p.m. EST/3 p.m. CST/2 p.m. MST/1 p.m. PST. Dates for parts 1-4 are Jan. 5, Jan. 26, Feb. 23 and March 22, 2012.

Catherine Hakala-Ausperk is a library administrator, advocate, speaker and trainer who believes the future of our libraries depends on strong, effective leadership. A frequent speaker at national and state conferences, staff days and workshops, Hakala-Ausperk is a 27-year public library veteran and an adjunct faculty member of Kent State University’s School of Library and Information Science. She has been a contributor and guest editor for ALA-APA’s Library Worklife and is the author of "Be a Great Boss: One Year to Success," published in 2011 by ALA Editions. An Ohio Certified Public Librarian and an American Library Association Certified Public Library Administrator (CPLA), she is currently executive director of The Northeast Ohio Regional Library System (NEO-RLS)

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a handsā€on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.