Learn to reach your library audience through Facebook in new David Lee King workshop

For Immediate Release
Tue, 09/20/2011

Contact:

Dan Freeman

CHICAGO - ALA TechSource announces a new workshop featuring David Lee King on how to use Facebook for library services and user engagement. This workshop will show librarians how to use the popular social networking site to help their libraries.

Around 154 million Americans—51 percent of the population—are now using Facebook, according to a  recent study by Edison Research. How effectively are you using this direct, free means of communication to reach out to your library’s patrons and users? Digital branch and social networking innovator David Lee King will share what he’s learned from years of experience and experiments with the Topeka and Shawnee County’s Facebook page.  He will answer your questions and share time-saving tips on getting the most out of using Facebook. 

Topics include:

  • Fundamentals for setting up and managing your Facebook page
  • The difference between a personal Facebook profile and an organizational Facebook page
  • Planning content for your library Facebook page
  • How to engage the library’s Facebook fans
  • How to market your library through a Facebook page

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store. The workshop takes place  at 2:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. CDT/12:30 p.m. MDT/11:30 a.m. PDT on Wednesday, Nov. 2. The session will last 90 minutes.

David Lee King is the digital branch and services manager at the Topeka and Shawnee County (Kan.) Public Library, where he plans for, implements, and experiments with emerging technology trends. He speaks internationally about emerging trends, website usability and management, digital experience planning and managing techie staff and has been published in many library-related journals. David was named a Library Journal Mover and Shaker for 2008 and recently published his first book, Designing the Digital Experience. He writes the Internet Spotlight column in Public Libraries magazine with Michael Porter and maintains a blog at www.davidleeking.com.

ALA TechSource Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a handsā€on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA TechSource is a publishing imprint of the American Library Association. ALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and the ALA TechSource Blog.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.