University of Kansas receives H.W. Wilson Library Staff Development Grant

For Immediate Release
Wed, 05/18/2011


CHICAGO –  The American Library Association is pleased to announce that the University of Kansas Libraries in Lawrence, Kan. is the 2011 recipient of The H. W. Wilson Library Staff Development Grant.  Their successful proposal, Enhancing Service and Engagement Through Understanding Staff Strengths: Individuals, Teams, and the Organization, was chosen from among several applicants.

The grant is awarded to a library organization for a program to further its staff development goals and objectives.  The award includes $3,500 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by the H. W. Wilson Company.

The University of Kansas proposal was cited for developing a comprehensive program to help staff members understand, implement and assess their individual strengths; for encouraging and furthering staff growth by focusing on and utilizing their unique skills and qualities in order to enhance organizational capacity and effectiveness; for planning a process to more effectively align the strengths of members of the staff with the work in which they are engaged; for providing an innovative approach to appreciating the importance and value of nurturing specific staff talents and expertise; and for inspiring other libraries and centers for information to initiate strengths development projects and create new methods of enhancing workforce capabilities.

Members of the 2011 H.W. Wilson Staff Development Award committee are: Chair, Ernie DiMattia, Ferguson Library, Stamford, Conn.; Eloise May, Arapahoe Library District, Denver, Colo.; Tobi Oberman, Skokie Public Library, Skokie, Ill.; Karen Wielhorski, University of Houston-Clear Lake Neumann Library, Seabrook, Texas; and Syma Zerkow, Houston Public Library, Houston.

The H. W. Wilson Library Staff Development Grant Award will be presented in June, 2011, during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2012 H.W. Wilson Award is Dec. 1.  Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA website.