Learn how to build a great library website in ALA TechSource workshop

For Immediate Release
Tue, 04/26/2011

Contact:

Dan Freeman

CHICAGO - By popular demand, ALA TechSource will be offering David Lee King's workshop Building the Digital Branch this June. This workshop will provide librarians with a foundation to build or expand their library websites with effective planning and minimal costs.

Every library needs a presence on the Web. Whether you work at a large academic library or a public library in a small town, you need to be able to deliver service and content to patrons outside  your building. David Lee King will once again presents this popular workshop, taking you through the process of building an effective, user-friendly library website that will expand and enhance your library’s presence in the community.

In this workshop, you’ll learn:

  •     How to successfully plan and implement a redesign of your website
  •     How to find out what patrons want from your website
  •     How to use your website to interact with patrons
  •     How to create strategic plans and goals for your website

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store. The workshop takes place on at 2:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. CDT/12:30 p.m. MDT/11:30 a.m. PDT Wednesday, June 8. The session will last 90 minutes.

David Lee King is the digital branch and services manager at the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library, where he plans for, implements and experiments with emerging technology trends. He speaks internationally about emerging trends, website usability and management, digital experience planning and managing techie staff and has been published in many library-related journals. David was named a Library Journal Mover and Shaker for 2008 and recently published his first book, "Designing the Digital Experience." David writes the Internet Spotlight column in Public Libraries magazine with Michael Porter and maintains a blog at www.davidleeking.com.

ALA TechSource Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA TechSource is a publishing imprint of the American Library Association. ALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and the ALA TechSource Blog.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.