ALA councilors elected

For Immediate Release
Fri, 04/29/2011


JoAnne Kempf

CHICAGO - 34 members have been elected as councilors-at-large on the Council of the American Library Association (ALA) for three-year terms. The terms begin at the conclusion of the 2011 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans and extend through the end of the 2014 Annual Conference held in Las Vegas.   

The 2011 - 2014 Councilors-at-Large are:

  • Rosina Alaimo
  • Mary Biblo
  • Eileen K. Bosch
  • Irene Louise Briggs
  • Diane R. Chen
  • Matthew P. Ciszek
  • Diedre (Dee) Conkling
  • Roberto Carlos Delgadillo
  • John DeSantis
  • Jenny Emanuel
  • Barbara L. Flynn
  • Angelica Guerrero Fortin
  • Ed Garcia
  • Mary Anne Hodel
  • David A. Hurley
  • Julius C. Jefferson, Jr.
  • Wei Jeng-Chu
  • Xudong Jin
  • Margaret L. Kirkpatrick
  • Em Claire Knowles
  • Mike L. Marlin
  • Catherine E. Marriott
  • Kirby McCurtis
  • Bobbi L. Newman
  • Andrew K. Pace
  • Mary Pagliero Popp
  • Brenda Pruitt-Annisette
  • Zora J. Sampson
  • Julie Ann Schneider
  • Wendy Steadman-Stephens
  • Barbara K. Stripling
  • Holly Tomren
  • Bill Turner
  • Patricia A. Wand

Charles A. Kratz was elected for a two-year term to end at the conclusion of the 2013 Annual Conference in Chicago.


ALA Division and Round Table Councilors elected for 2011-2014 include:

ALCTS - Brian E. C. Schottlaender

LLAMA - Susan Leigh Considine

PLA - Christine Lind Hage

NMRT - Susan L. Jennings

Sara Kelly Johns was also elected as AASL Councilor for a one-year term to begin immediately and expire at the end of the 2012 ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif.


Two proposed Constitution amendments were approved.  One proposed Bylaw amendment was approved. 

A total of 9,618 votes were cast in the election. Council, Division and Round Table elections also were decided.

For complete election results, please visit: