New ALA Editions workshop teaches about Supporting Early Literacy through Language-Rich Library Environments

For Immediate Release
Fri, 02/11/2011

Contact:

Dan Freeman

EditionsWorkshop_banner.jpg

ALA Editions announces Supporting Early Literacy through Language-Rich Library Environments with Saroj Ghoting, a new workshop that will take place on Thursday, April 21.

In this interactive workshop, Ghoting will provide a wealth of ideas for creating a language-rich learning environment in the library. Using examples from libraries around the country that range from simple posters to creating learning space, she will demonstrate how simple, affordable changes can maximize the library’s ability to foster early literacy. Environments influence behavior, and the library is no exception--participants will have the opportunity for hands-on learning and interaction with one of the leaders in Childhood Literacy and will learn how to create an environment that influences positive literacy behaviors.

Registration for this workshop is available on the ALA Store. The workshop will last 90 minutes and takes place at 1 p.m. EST/Noon CST/11 a.m. MST/10 a.m. PST on Thursday, April 21.

A children's librarian for more than 30 years, Saroj Nadkarni Ghoting is now an early childhood literacy consultant. She is the co-author of the best-selling "Early Literacy Storytimes @ your library" (2005) and "The Early Literacy Kit" (2009). She works as one of the trainers for the Every Child Ready to Read @ your library program, an early literacy initiative co-sponsored by the Public Library Association and the Association for Library Service to Children. She received her BA from Oberlin College (Ohio) and her MLS from Catholic University of American in Washington, D.C. Click on her website www.earlylit.net for more information.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide. ALA Editions publishes resources used worldwide by tens of thousands of library and information professionals to improve programs, build on best practices, develop leadership, and for personal professional development. ALA authors and developers are leaders in their fields, and their content is published in a growing range of print and electronic formats. Contact ALA Editions at (800) 545-2433 ext. 5418 or editionsmarketing@ala.org.