Learn to make mobile services work for you in new ALA TechSource workshop

For Immediate Release
Tue, 02/01/2011

Contact:

Dan Freeman

LTR-cover-banner.jpg

CHICAGO - ALA TechSource announces a new workshop: Making Mobile Services Work for Your Library with Cody Hanson.

This workshop will provide a foundation for librarians interested in providing mobile services for patrons. The increasing popularity of smartphones is no secret, and in order to keep up, modern libraries need to make sure that patrons can access their resources through these devices. This workshop will help them get started.

Library services for mobile devices like smartphones and iPads are becoming more and more common. As these devices explode in popularity, it is important that libraries understand their options when it comes to creating library websites and applications that work with these devices. In this workshop, Cody Hanson will provide a foundation for launching, maintaining and expanding mobile services in your library.

Topics Covered in This Workshop:

  • The landscape of mobile device usage and smartphone adoption
  • The mobile OS marketplace
  • Strategies for assessing your library's mobile-friendliness
  • Strategies for beginning to offer mobile services
  • Issues of concern for libraries in mobile information access

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store. The workshop takes place at 2:30 p.m. EST/1:30 p.m. CST/12:30 p.m. MST/11:30 a.m. PST Wednesday, March 9 and lasts 90 minutes.

ALA TechSource Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA TechSource is a publishing imprint of the American Library Association. ALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and the ALA TechSource Blog.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.