Jason Griffey teaches effective use of Gadgets in Your Library in new ALA TechSource Workshop

For Immediate Release
Tue, 02/22/2011

Contact:

Dan Freeman

CHICAGO - ALA TechSource announces a new workshop: Gadgets in the Library: A Practical Guide to Personal Electronics for Librarians with Jason Griffey.

From the iPad to eReaders, gadgets are everywhere. As these personal electronic devices become more and more ubiquitous in everyday life, it’s essential that libraries are fluent in the language of these devices. Whether your library wants to make use of these items in its services or purchase them to lend out to patrons, this interactive workshop will give you the foundation you need for bringing your library into the future through gadgets. 

Topic covered in this workshop will include:

Session 1: Non-e-Reader Gadgets 
Wednesday, April 13, 2011, 2:30 p.m. – 4 p.m. EDT 

  • Personal Electronics are Personal
  • Operating Systems vs Devices
  • iOS & Android
  • Circulation & Policy

Session 2: E-Readers and More 
Wednesday, April 20, 2011, 2:30 p.m. – 4 p.m. EDT
 

  • Types, differences, decisions
  • Amazon, Nook, Sony
  • Cataloging and Representation in Systems
  • Summary and Conclusions

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store. The workshop takes place at 2:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. CDT/12:30 p.m. MDT/11:30 a.m. PDT on Wednesdays, April 13 and April 20. Each session will last 90 minutes.

Jason Griffey is an associate professor and head of library information technology at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. His latest book, "Mobile Technology and Libraries," is now available as a part of Neal Schuman’s Tech Set. Jason’s previous book, "Library Blogging," with Karen A Coombs, is available through Amazon. He can be stalked obsessively at www.jasongriffey.net and at Pattern Recognition, his personal blog. He is the author of the American Libraries Perpetual Beta blog and is also a columnist for the ALA Techsource blog. Jason was named one of Library Journal’s Movers and Shakers in 2009 and is regularly invited to speak on libraries, the social economy, mobile technology and other technology-related issues.

ALA TechSource Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA TechSource is a publishing imprint of the American Library Association. ALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and the ALA TechSource Blog.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.