19 notable sites added to ALSC's Great Websites for Kids

For Immediate Release
Mon, 12/13/2010


Laura Schulte-Cooper

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has added more recommended websites to Great Web Sites for Kids (www.ala.org/greatsites), its online resource containing hundreds of links to outstanding websites for children.

Great Web Sites for Kids (GWS) features links to websites of interest to children 14 years of age and younger, organized into diverse subject headings, from astronomy and space to zoos and aquariums, from games and entertainment to geography and maps. There is also a special section with sites of interest to parents, caregivers and teachers.

Members of the ALSC Great Web Sites for Kids Committee review and evaluate potential sites for inclusion and vote on the sites to be included. They also regularly check the entire site to ensure currency and re-evaluate sites as necessary.

The newly added sites are:

4 2 Explore -  http://42explore.com/index.htm
A + Click Math Practice Tests - www.aplusclick.com
ARKive - www.arkive.org
Barbara McClintock - www.barbaramcclintockbooks.com
Clever Crazes for Kids - www.clevercrazes.com
Geigno’s World - www.geognos.com
ICivics - www.icivics.org
Imarbles - www.imarbles.com
Kids Astronomy - www.kidsastronomy.com
Kids Geo - www.kidsgeo.com
Learning Games for Kids - www.learninggamesforkids.com
Math Games from Sheppard’s Software - www.sheppardsoftware.com/math.htm
Ready Kids - www.ready.gov/kids
Spaghetti Book Club - www.spaghettibookclub.com
Sprout (PBS Kids) - www.sproutonline.com/sprout/home/jump.aspx
Stop Bullying Now - www.stopbullyingnow.hrsa.gov/kids
Story Snoops - www.storysnoops.com
Story Blocks - www.storyblocks.org
Try Science  - www.tryscience.org/home.html

“I always feel confident in referring patrons to the ALA/ALSC Great Web Sites for Kids, knowing that each site has been carefully screened by the GWS Committee for design, stability, authorship, clear purpose and content,” said Carla Morris, Children’s Services Manager at Provo City (Utah) Library and co-chair of the GWS Committee.

Members of the 2010 Great Web Sites for Kids Committee are: Meagan Albright, co-chair, Alvin Sherman Library, Research and Information Technology Center, Nova Southeastern University, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.; Carla Morris, co-chair, Provo City (Utah) Library; Ryan Baker, San Jose (Calif.) State University; Rachel Fryd, Free Library of Philadelphia, Pa.; Sharon Ledford, Harrison Elementary School, Lexington, Ky.; Beth Medley, Scottsdale (Ariz.) Public Library; Jacqueline Partch, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore.; Amanda Sharpe, University of California, Los Angeles; and Stephanie Simpson, Charlotte, N.C.

The complete listing of great sites with annotations and selection criteria can be found at www.ala.org/greatsites.