ALA Youth Media Awards Press Kit


  American Library Association Youth Media Awards  


Each year the American Library Association honors books, videos, and other outstanding materials for children and teens. Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, the ALA Youth Media Awards, including the prestigious, Coretta Scott King Book, Caldecott, Newbery, and Printz Awards,  guide parents, educators, librarians, and others in selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by committees composed of librarians and other literature and media experts, the awards encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media.

2017 ALA Midwinter and Exhibits Logo


The 2017 Youth Media Award announcements  will take place during the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits on Monday, Jan. 23, 2017 at 8 a.m. ET from the Georgia World Congress Center.

View results live at








Press Releases

Thousands to view ALA Youth Media Awards results live


Youth Media Awards include: 

Alex Awards

Andrew Carnegie Medal

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

John Newbery Medal

(Laura Ingalls) Wilder Award 

Margaret A. Edwards Award

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Michael L. Printz Award

Mildred L. Batchelder Award

Odyssey Award

Pura BelprĂ© Awards

Randolph Caldecott Medal

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

Schneider Family Book Award

Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award

Theodore Seuss Geisel Award

William C. Morris Award

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults 



ALA Youth Media Awards Fact Sheet

2016 Youth Media Award Winners 

2015 Youth Media Award Winners

2014 Youth Media Award Winners

2013 Youth Media Award Winners  

2012 Youth Media Award Winners

2011 Youth Media Award Winners

2010 Youth Media Award Winners


Media Contacts:

Macey Morales,  Deputy Director, Public Awareness Office, 312-280-4393, 

Steve Zalusky,  Communications Manager, Public Awareness Office, 312-280-1546, 

Heather Cho, Media Relations Specialists, Public Awareness Office,  312-280-4020,