ALSC announces exceptional Web sites for children

Laura Schulte-Cooper
ALSC Program Officer
312-280-2165
lschulte@ala.org

NEWS
For Immediate Release
June 8, 2009

Chicago -- The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association, has added more recommended Web sites to Great Web Sites for Kids ( www.ala.org/greatsites), its online resource containing hundreds of links to commendable Web sites for children.

Great Web Sites for Kids (GWS) features links to Web sites of interest to children 14 years of age and younger, organized into diverse subject headings such as dinosaurs, authors and illustrators; games and entertainment; U.S. history; astronomy and space; and reference desk. There is also a special section with sites of interest to parents, caregivers and teachers. Some of the Web sites even include blogging opportunities for kids.

Members of the ALSC Great Web Sites for Kids Committee review potential sites for inclusion and vote on the sites to be included. They also regularly check the entire site to ensure currency and re-evaluate sites when necessary.

The newly added sites are:

DogEared – http://kidsblogs.nationalgeographic.com/dogeared/
First Palette – www.firstpalette.com
Giggle Poetry – www.gigglepoetry.com/index.aspx
Great Group Games – www.greatgroupgames.com
Imagination Cafe: Feed Your Brain – www.imagination-cafe.com
Jack Prelutsky – www.jackprelutsky.com
Jean Marzollo – www.jeanmarzollo.com
Journey North – www.learner.org/jnorth/
Kaboose: Where Family Comes First – http://funschool.kaboose.com
Kokone – www.kokone.com.mx/
Mr. Schlytter’s Mathematics Site – http://classrooms.tacoma.k12.wa.us/stadium/eschlytter/index.php
Mrs. P – www.MrsP.com
Read Kiddo Read – www.readkiddoread.com/home
Scholastic News Online – www.scholastic.com/news
The Lorax Project – www.theloraxproject.com
Wildlife Filmmaker – http://animals.nationalgeographic.com/animals/article/filmmaker.html
Spatulatta.com – www.spatulatta.com

Members of the 2009 Great Web Sites for Kids Committee are: Meagan Albright, co-chair, Alvin Sherman Library, Research and Information Technology Center, Nova Southeastern University, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.; Sharon Haupt, co-chair, San Luis Coastal Unified School District, San Luis Obispo, Calif.; Kimberly Knight, Arlington (Va.) Public Library; Diana McFarland, Brunswick, Maine; Carla Morris, Provo City (Utah) Library; Jacqueline Partch, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore.; Marilyn Sobotincic, Medina County (Ohio) District Library; and Terrell Young, Washington State University, Richland.

The complete listing of great sites with annotations and selection criteria can be found at www.ala.org/greatsites.