ALSC announces exceptional Web sites for children

Untitled Document

 

Contact: Laura Schulte-Cooper
ALSC Program Officer
312-280-2165
 lschulte@ala.org

NEWS

For Immediate Release

December 8, 2009

 

CHICAGO -- The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has added  recommended Web sites to Great Web Sites for Kids (www.ala.org/greatsites), its online resource containing hundreds of links to outstanding Web sites for children.

Great Web Sites for Kids (GWS) features links to Web sites of interest to children 14 years of age and younger, organized into diverse subject headings, from astronomy and space to zoos and aquariums, from games and entertainment to geography and maps. There is also a special section with sites of interest to parents, caregivers and teachers.

Members of the ALSC Great Web Sites for Kids Committee review and evaluate potential sites for inclusion and vote on the sites to be included. They also regularly check the entire site to ensure currency and re-evaluate sites when necessary.

The newly added sites are:

Little Lunkers  –http://www.takemefishing.org/fishing/family/little-lunkers-learning-center
Janet Wong - http://www.janetwong.com/
Catch the Science Bug - http://www.sciencebug.org/
Color with Leo - http://www.colorwithleo.com/
Coretta Scott King Book Award Curriculum Resource Center - http://www.teachingbooks.net/crc.cgi?id=1
Global Trek - http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/globaltrek/
What’s it like where you live? – http://www.mbgnet.net/
Literacy Connections - http://www.literacyconnections.com/index.php
Getty Games - http://www.getty.edu/gettygames/
Kid’s Science Challenge - http://www.kidsciencechallenge.com/
I was wondering… - http://www.iwaswondering.org/
CILIP Carnegie & Kate Green Away Children's Book Awards - http://www.carnegiegreenaway.org.uk/home/index.php
Storynory - http://storynory.com/
Earthquakes for Kids - http://earthquake.usgs.gov/learn/kids/
The Great Plant Escape - http://urbanext.illinois.edu/gpe/gpe.html
Invention at Play - http://www.inventionatplay.org/
Library of Congress: Books for Kids - http://read.gov/kids/
Encyclopedia.com - http://www.encyclopedia.com/
Up To Ten - http://www.uptoten.com/
The Story Home - http://thestoryhome.com/

Members of the 2009 Great Web Sites for Kids Committee are: Meagan Albright, co-chair, Alvin Sherman Library, Research and Information Technology Center, Nova Southeastern University, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.; Sharon Haupt, co-chair, San Luis Coastal Unified School District, San Luis Obispo, Calif.; Kimberly Knight, Arlington (Va.) Public Library; Diana McFarland, Brunswick, Maine; Carla Morris, Provo City (Utah) Library; Jacqueline Partch, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore.; and Terrell Young, Washington State University, Richland.

The complete listing of great sites with annotations and selection criteria can be found at www.ala.org/greatsites.