ALSC Announces Exceptional Web Sites for Children

Contact: Laura Schulte-Cooper
ALSC Program Officer
(312) 280-2165
lschulte@ala.org


For Immediate Release
January 29, 2008

ALSC Announces Exceptional Web Sites for Children

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association, is pleased to announce the Web sites added in 2007 to Great Web Sites for Kids (www.ala.org/greatsites), its online resource containing hundreds of links to commendable Web sites for children.

Great Web Sites for Kids (GWS) features links to valuable Web sites of interest to children, organized by subject headings such as animals; literature and languages; sciences; the arts; and history and biography. There is also a special section with sites of interest to parents, caregivers and teachers and an area devoted to sites in Spanish. The ALSC Great Web Sites for Kids Committee maintains and updates the site.

"In 2007, GWS Committee members reviewed more than 400 Web sites for children aged birth to 14, in search of sites that are outstanding in content and conception," said Becki Bishop, 2007 co-chair of the committee and a media specialist at Campbell Court Elementary School in Bassett, Va. "To make the cut and appear on the Great Web sites for Kids, a site must demonstrate commendable quality and reflect and encourage young people's interests in exemplary ways. Sites are put through a rigorous evaluation and voting process by the committee before being deemed "great" and added to the GWS page."

ALSC's GWS Committee voted to add the following sites in 2007:

Adoption Clubhouse - www.adoptionclubhouse.org
Afro-America Kids' Zone - www.afro.com/children/children.html
Bookwink - www.bookwink.com
Bradshaw Foundation - www.bradshawfoundation.com
The Bubblesphere - www.bubbles.org
Sharon Creech's Web site - www.sharoncreech.com/index.html
Diane deGroat's Official Site - www.dianedegroat.com
Get Set 4 Kindergarten - www.getset4k.org
International Digital Children's Library - www.childrenslibrary.org/
Just One More Book - www.justonemorebook.com
Kids Boogaloo - www.alligatorboogaloo.com/kids
Little Critter - www.littlecritter.com
Marc's Observatory - www.marcsobservatory.com
Math Playground - www.MathPlayground.com
Math Slice - www.mathslice.com
The Mint - www.themint.org
Mr. Young's Bouncy "A" - www.covenantworks.com/Bouncy-A/index.htm
My First Garden - www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/firstgarden/
My Kids Corner - www.my-kids-corner.com
National Geographic My Wonderful World: Maps - Tools for Adventure - www.nationalgeographic.com/toolsforadventure
Noggin - www.noggin.com
Pagina Junior - www.paginajunior.com
Planet Esme - www.planetesme.com
Play Sports TV - www.playsportstv.com
Professor Garfield - www.professorgarfield.org
Readergirlz - www.readergirlz.com
Savings Quest - www.mysavingsquest.com/
Science Bob - www.sciencebob.com
Science Buddies - www.sciencebuddies.org
Sur La Lune Storytime - www.surlalunefairytales.com/storytime/index.html
Tox Town - www.toxtown.nlm.hih.gov
TVO Kids http://tvokids.com
Chris Van Allsburg's Web site - www.chrisvanallsburg.com
World Almanac for Kids - www.worldalmanacforkids.com/explore/index.html

Members of the 2007 Great Web Sites for Kids Committee were: Rebecca (Becki) Bishop, co-chair, Campbell Court Elementary School, Bassett, Va.; Karen Lemmons, co-chair, Howe Elementary School, Detroit; Amy Brown, Worthington Libraries, Columbus, Ohio; Marci Davis, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore.; Robin Gibson, Granville, Ohio; Leslie Millrod, Westhampton Free Library, Westhampton Beach, N.Y.; Carla Morris, Provo City (Utah) Library; and Marianne Stambaugh, Oklahoma State University, Tulsa.

Complete selection criteria can be found at www.ala.org/greatsites, click on "Selection Criteria" in the left-hand navigation menu.

For more information on ALSC's GWS, please visit www.ala.org/greatsites.