Nominating committee extends deadline

For Immediate Release
Tue, 07/14/2020


Sheryl Reyes

Director, Governance

Office of ALA Governance

(312) 280-4230

CHICAGO — The ALA 2021 Nominating Committee announces a deadline extension for completing the candidate biographical form for the positions of Councilor-at-Large and President-elect. The new deadline is July 31, 2020

During this unprecedented time, the ALA 2021 Nominating Committee acknowledges that more time is needed for interested candidates to consider and reflect as many focus on their institutions, communities and families. Members who wish to make nominations of others or themselves should submit the following information: nominee name; present position; institution; address; telephone; and e-mail address to a member of the ALA 2021 Nominating Committee. Self-nominations are encouraged. All interested nominees must complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form ( You will be asked to create or continue to complete your  account to access the form. Please remember to click on the “Submit” button to complete the Biographical Form. The form must be submitted no later than July 31, 2020.

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for President-elect and no fewer than 51 candidates for the 34 at-large Council seats to be filled in the 2021 spring election.

  • The President-elect will serve a three-year term: as President-elect in 2021-22, as President in 2022-23, and as Immediate Past President in 2023-24.
  • The Councilors-at-large will serve three-year terms, beginning after the 2021 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2024 Annual Conference.

The ALA President and Councilors also serve in corresponding roles in the ALA-Allied Professional Association [ALA-APA]. Individuals considering ALA-APA office are encouraged to consult with their employer regarding any restrictions regarding lobbying activities or service on the governing body of a 501(c)6 organization.

If you have any questions or suggested nominees who should be contacted, you are encouraged to reach out to any member of the Nominating Committee for the 2021 ALA Election.

 Committee members are: 

Candice (Wing-yee) Mack (Chair)
Manager, System-wide Teen Services
Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles, CA 90071

Floyd Council
Executive Director
Birmingham Public Library, Birmingham, AL 35203

Skip Dye
SVP, Library Marketing & Digital Sales; SVP Dir. Sales Operations
Penguin Random House, New York, NY 10019

Ann Dutton Ewbank
Associate Professor
Montana State University, Bozeman, MT 59718

Eldon Ray James
Retired researcher
Abilene, TX 79602

Amy Spence Lappin
Deputy Director
Lebanon Public Libraries, Lebanon, NH 03776

Arlene Laverde
Townsend Harris High School Library, Jamaica, NY 11426

Scott Walter
Dean of Library and Information Access
San Diego State University, San Diego, CA 92182

Deimosa Webber-Bey
Sr. Library Manager
Scholastic Inc., The Scholastic Library & Archive
New York, NY 10012


The 2021 ALA election poll opens the second Monday in March (March 8) and the poll closes the first Wednesday in April (April 7).