Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries leaders receive 2020 Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial award

For Immediate Release
Fri, 02/21/2020


Chase Ollis

Program Officer


CHICAGO — Beth Denker, George Machovec, and Rose Nelson of the Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries have been named the 2020 recipients of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award. Denker is the e-resource licensing and administrative manager, Machovec is the executive director, and Nelson is the assistant director. The team will receive a cash award and citation during a LITA event at the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago.

Named in honor of one of the pioneers of library automation, the Atkinson Award recognizes an academic librarian who has made significant contributions in the area of library automation or management and has made notable improvements in library services or research.

“Together, Denker, Machovec, and Nelson exemplify the spirit of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award through their outstanding contributions toward the improvement of library services,” said Holly Tomren, Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award committee chair and head of metadata strategy and digitization services at Temple University. “Their collaborative and innovative work in library automation has had a broad impact on the library profession beyond the Rocky Mountain region, particularly in the development of Gold Rush, a collection assessment and electronic resource management system used by libraries nationally and internationally.”

“The Alliance leadership has also piloted a creative and forward-thinking program to implement interlibrary loan for streaming video through their SILLVR project,” continued Tomren. “Additionally, Denker, Machovec, and Nelson together provide a model for consortium management in their delivery of patron-centered library services and efficient library systems, including their Prospector union catalog, transformative licensing agreements for electronic resources, shared print initiatives, interlibrary loan services, and professional development opportunities for their members.”

Denker received her M.L.S. from Emporia State University, Machovec received his M.L.S. from the University of Arizona, and Nelson received her M.L.I.S. from Emporia State University.

The Hugh C. Atkinson Award is jointly sponsored by four divisions of the American Library Association: the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS), the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA), and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA). The award is funded from an endowment established to honor Hugh C. Atkinson.

For more information regarding the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award, or a complete list of past recipients, please visit the awards section of the ACRL website.


About ACRL
The Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) is the higher education association for academic libraries and library workers. Representing more than 10,000 individuals and libraries, ACRL (a division of the American Library Association) develops programs, products, and services to help those working in academic and research libraries learn, innovate, and lead within the academic community. Founded in 1940, ACRL is committed to advancing learning, transforming scholarship, and creating diverse and inclusive communities. Find ACRL on the webFacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.

The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) is the national association for information providers who work in collections and technical services, such as acquisitions, cataloging, collection development, preservation and continuing resources in digital and print formats. ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association.

The Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA) advances outstanding leadership and management practices in library and information services by encouraging and nurturing individual excellence in current and aspiring library leaders. LLAMA is a division of the American Library Association.

About LITA
The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA) is the leading organization reaching out across types of libraries to provide education and services for a broad membership of systems librarians, library technologists, library administrators, library schools, vendors, and many others interested in leading edge technology and applications for librarians and information providers. LITA is a division of the American Library Association. Follow us on our Blog, Facebook, or Twitter.