Paula De Stefano receives Banks Harris Preservation Award 2019

For Immediate Release
Thu, 02/21/2019


Julie Reese

Deputy Executive Director

Association for Library Collections & Technical Services

CHICAGO— Paula De Stefano is the recipient of the 2019 Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award. This award is given annually by the Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS). Sponsored by Preservation Technologies, L.P., the award consists of $1,500 and a citation. De Stefano’s consistent leadership, service, and dedication to the preservation profession embodies the qualities of the Banks Harris Award. 

De Stefano’s extensive history and pattern of service to the preservation profession makes her stand out as one of the leaders in the field. She has made many outstanding contributions to the preservation community from her leadership and participation in ALA/ALCTS committees as well as through her work as a representative to the New York State Conservation/Preservation Program for her library, which resulted in the collaboration of many grant projects and efforts to broaden the knowledge of and access to preservation in the region.

De Stefano demonstrated visionary leadership, as stated by one colleague, for her home institution of New York University and the field as an early implementer of digitization for the preservation of audiovisual (AV) collection materials and was an early advocate for the preservation of time-based media. For decades, she has quietly and intelligently moved the field forward, demonstrating through her work and writing oftentimes non-traditional approaches to preservation that have influenced the field’s philosophy and praxis. She has been teaching and advocating for libraries and archives for over 20 years through her publications, lectures, workshops and classes as an adjunct professor in three graduate programs. 

The Banks-Harris Preservation Award honors the memories of Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris, early leaders in library preservation and teachers and mentors for many in the field of preservation. The award will be presented on Saturday, June 22 at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony at the 2019 American Library Association’s Annual Conference & Exhibition in Washington, D.C.

The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) is the national association for information providers who work in collections and technical services, such as acquisitions, cataloging, collection development, preservation and continuing resources in digital and print formats. ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association.