New workshop—Data Privacy: Protecting Your Library, Yourself, and Your Patrons

For Immediate Release
Fri, 10/12/2018

Contact:

Colton Ursiny

Administrative Assistant

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions

cursiny@ala.org

CHICAGO—ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions announces an exciting new workshop, Data Privacy: Protecting Your Library, Yourself, and Your Patrons with Nicole Hennig. This workshop will last 90 minutes and take place at 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific on Wednesday, December 12, 2018.

Maintaining patron privacy is a primary concern for libraries. With news overwhelmingly covering security and data breaches, you may be wondering what you can do to help keep your users data secure.

In this workshop, Nicole Hennig covers the best practices that your library can follow to ensure your staff and your library users’ data is as safe as possible. While there is no such thing as foolproof security and privacy, there are strategies and actions you can take to protect your data.

About the Instructor

Nicole Hennig is an expert in mobile technologies for libraries. In her 14 years of experience at the MIT Libraries, she won awards for innovation and worked to keep academics up to date with the best mobile technologies. Now she has her own business helping librarians stay current with new technologies. She is the author of several books, including Keeping Up with Emerging Technologies and Apps for Librarians. Like most librarians, she is passionate about access to information for all. To stay current with the best technologies for education and productivity, sign up for her email newsletter, Mobile Apps News, on nicolehennig.com.

Registration for this ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions Workshop is available on the ALA Store. You can purchase registration at both individual and group rates.

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions Workshops offer a convenient, hands-on learning experience that will help you and your colleagues make the best decisions for your library. This workshop is licensed for use by staff or users of the purchasing institution or library organization.

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions (ELS) produces high-quality professional development events and materials for the library profession. ELS events cover modern issues on a wide variety of topics in formats that include live workshops, asynchronous eCourses, and print publications. We help ensure that today’s library employees have access to the professional development opportunities they need, whether they are brushing up on the basics or expanding their horizons with cutting-edge tools. Contact us at elsmarketing@ala.org.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.