Bowen elected ALCTS President for 2019-2020

For Immediate Release
Mon, 04/16/2018


Keri Cascio

Executive Director

Association for Library Collections & Technical Services

CHICAGO —Jennifer Bowen, associate dean for scholarly resource management at the University of Rochester’s River Campus Libraries, has been elected the 2019-2020 President of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS).

She has held a variety of technical services-related positions at the University of Rochester, beginning as a music cataloger at the Eastman School of Music’s Sibley Music Library; and prior to that at Detroit Public Library. Bowen holds an A.M.L.S. and an M.A. (musicology) from the University of Michigan and a B.M. from Central Michigan University.  

Within ALCTS, Bowen served as the ALA representative to the Joint Steering Committee for Revision of AACR during the initial development of RDA, for which she was awarded an ALCTS Presidential Citation in 2007. In 2006, she was the recipient of the ALCTS Best of LRTS award for her article, “FRBR: Coming Soon to your Library.” Bowen has also served as ALCTS director-at-large, chair of the ALCTS Cataloging and Metadata Management Section (CaMMS), and as the Music Library Association liaison to ALCTS/CaMMS Committee on Cataloging: Description and Access (CC:DA). She currently chairs the ALCTS Leadership Development Committee and serves as an ALCTS mentor.

In addition to her ALCTS service, Bowen currently serves as a delegate to OCLC Global Council and is a member of the EAST (Eastern Academic Scholars Trust) Executive Committee. She has served in leadership roles in the Program for Cooperative Cataloging (PCC) and has been active in promoting linked data and open source software development for libraries. She is a member of the 2016 cohort of the CLIR/EDUCAUSE Leading Change Institute.

Mary Miller, director of collection management and preservation, University of Minnesota, was elected to a three-year term as director-at-large to the ALCTS Board of Directors.

Elected as section chairs for 2019-2020 were: Acquisitions, Lori Duggan, Indiana University; Cataloging and Metadata Management, Sandy Roe, Illinois State University; Collection Management, Gabrielle Wiersma, University of Colorado, Boulder; Continuing Resources, Leigh Ann DePope, University of Maryland, College Park; and Preservation and Reformatting, Hilary Seo, Iowa State University.

ALCTS member Whitney Buccicone, University of Washington, was elected to a three-year term as councilor-at-large on the American Library Association (ALA) Council.

ALCTS thanks all the candidates who stood for election as well as the members who participated in voting. ALCTS continues to prosper due to the dedicated members willing to serve our Association.

The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) is the national association for information providers who work in collections and technical services, such as acquisitions, cataloging, collection development, preservation and continuing resources in digital and print formats. ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association.