Nancy E. Kraft receives Banks Harris Preservation Award

For Immediate Release
Fri, 03/02/2018


Keri Cascio

Executive Director

Association for Library Collections & Technical Services

CHICAGO—Nancy E. Kraft is the recipient of the 2018 Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award. This award is given annually by the Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS). Sponsored by Preservation Technologies, L.P., the award consists of $1,500 and a citation. Kraft’s consistent leadership, service, advocacy and dedication to preservation education embodies the qualities of the Banks Harris Award.

Kraft’s unwavering commitment to disaster response and recovery has defined her career, and in every letter of support received, her colleagues repeatedly note her dedication to disaster planning. Because of her first-hand experience dealing with large-scale disaster, she developed an extensive understanding and awareness of what it is like to deal with cataclysmic events as they are developing. Kraft not only used this knowledge to create a state-wide plan that could be implemented in other regions, but continues to train others locally, nationally and internationally on disaster preparedness and response. She has shared her knowledge widely through publications and presentations. In their letters of support, colleagues repeatedly describe her as a “tireless advocate” of disaster planning and preparedness.

Kraft’s devotion to preservation and conservation across the state of Iowa is unrivaled. In Iowa, she has developed the Iowa Conservation and Preservation Consortium, one of the longest-lasting statewide preservation collaboratives. She worked with the state’s IMLS Connecting to Collections Statewide Preservation Planning Program, and she co-directs the Iowa Museums, Archives and Libraries Emergency Response Team, an effort that spans the cultural heritage spectrum.

Kraft’s significant contributions and leadership in professional service, especially her four years of service as ALA voting representative to NISO, current co-chair of AIC’s National Heritage Responders and current board member of the United States Committee of the Blue Shield, has, over the last few decades, built a solid foundation and a lasting contribution in the field of preservation. She has tirelessly served on countless committees, taskforces and working groups for the state of Iowa, ALA, AIC, ISO and UNESCO. She has notable publications, and is dedicated to teaching and mentoring the preservation and conservation community.

The Banks-Harris Preservation Award honors the memories of Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris, early leaders in library preservation and teachers and mentors for many in the field of preservation. The award will be presented on June 23 at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony at the 2018 American library Association’s Annual Conference and Exhibition in New Orleans, La.

The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) is the national association for information providers who work in collections and technical services, such as acquisitions, cataloging, collection development, preservation and continuing resources in digital and print formats. ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association.