Bucks County Community College wins ACRL CJCLS EBSCO Community College Learning Resources Award

For Immediate Release
Tue, 03/06/2018


Chase Ollis

Program Officer



CHICAGO – The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), is pleased to announce that Bucks County Community College has been chosen to receive the 2018 Community and Junior College Libraries Section (CJCLS) EBSCO Community College Learning Resources Award for its Learning Resources Faculty Institutes program.

The $750 award and plaque, donated by EBSCO Information Services, will be presented to Bucks County Community College Dean of Learning Resources and Online Learning Bill Hemmig at the 2018 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

The Learning Resources Faculty Institutes are two- or four-day immersive professional development opportunities for Bucks County Community College faculty. Designed and convened by faculty for faculty, the institutes, for which participants receive a stipend, prepare faculty for integrating information and multimedia literacy instruction into their courses and assignments, creating accessible course content, providing well-informed and effective academic advising, effectively teaching in a web-conferenced multi-campus format, and redesigning courses through the adoption of open educational resources.

“Bucks County Community College learning resources faculty have shown strong leadership in their participation in these institutes,” said award chair Sandy McCarthy of Washtenaw Community College. “These multidisciplinary professional development programs have expanded over the years from one institute in 2008 to an expanded selection on a variety of topics, including their first institute on open educational resources for the summer of 2018. The learning resources faculty are to be commended for their efforts in providing excellent opportunities to educate the educators.”

For more information regarding the ACRL CJCLS EBSCO Community College Learning Resources Award, or a complete list of past recipients, please visit the awards section of the ACRL website.  


About ACRL
The Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) is the higher education association for librarians. Representing nearly 10,500 academic and research librarians and interested individuals, ACRL (a division of the American Library Association) develops programs, products and services to help academic and research librarians learn, innovate and lead within the academic community. Founded in 1940, ACRL is committed to advancing learning and transforming scholarship. ACRL is on the web at acrl.org, Facebook at facebook.com/ala.acrl and Twitter at @ala_acrl.

About EBSCO Information Services
EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) is the leading discovery service provider for libraries worldwide with more than 11,000 discovery customers in over 100 countries. EBSCO Discovery Service™ (EDS) provides each institution with a comprehensive, single search box for its entire collection, offering unparalleled relevance ranking quality and extensive customization. EBSCO is also the preeminent provider of online research content for libraries, including hundreds of research databases, historical archives, point-of-care medical reference, and corporate learning tools serving millions of end users at tens of thousands of institutions. EBSCO is the leading provider of electronic journals & books for libraries, with subscription management for more than 360,000 serials, including more than 57,000 e-journals, as well as online access to more than 1,000,000 e-books. For more information, visit the EBSCO website at: www.ebsco.com. EBSCO Information Services is a division of EBSCO Industries Inc., a family owned company since 1944.