Chen, Barnes, Garcia, and McCauley elected to ALA Executive Board

For Immediate Release
Wed, 02/21/2018


JoAnne Kempf


Office of ALA Governance

(CHICAGO) Diane R. Chen, Tamika Barnes, Edward A. Garcia, and Maria Taesil Hudson McCauley have been elected to serve on the American Library Association (ALA) Executive Board. The new board members were elected by the ALA Council in a vote taken at the 2018 ALA Midwinter Meeting held February 9 - 13 in Denver. Barnes, Garcia, and McCauley will each serve three-year terms beginning in July 2018 and concluding in June 2021. Chen was elected to complete the unexpired term of Loida Garcia-Febo who was elected as ALA President-elect in April 2017. Her term begins immediately and will conclude at the close of the 2018 Annual Conference.

Chen is a school librarian at the Stratford STEM Magnet School in Nashville, Tennessee. She has served on ALA Council since 2007, and previously served on the Executive Board 2008-11.  She has served on numerous ALA committees and is an active member of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) and has served as their division councilor since 2015. Chen holds a BA in Elementary Education and Modern Languages/Chinese from Buena Vista University, Storm Lake, Iowa, and an MLIS from the University of Iowa.

Barnes, department head, Perimeter Library Services at Georgia State University, Dunwoody, has served on ALA Council from 2015 to the present.  She has served on numerous committees within ALA. She served as the 2011 president of the Special Libraries Association, North Carolina Chapter. Barnes is the recipient of the 2017 BCALA Library Advocacy Award and was a 1998 Spectrum Scholar. Barnes holds a BA in Biology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and an MLS from North Carolina Central University in Durham.

Garcia is the library director at the Cranston (Rhode Island) Public Library and has served on ALA Council since 2011.  He has served on numerous committees within ALA as well as the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA).  He is an active member of the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), the Public Library Association (PLA), the Games and Gaming Round Table (GAMERT), and the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT). Garcia holds a BA in History and an MLIS, both from the University of Rhode Island.

McCauley, Director of Libraries at the Cambridge (Massachusetts) Public Library, has served on ALA Council since 2013.  She has served on numerous committees within ALA and the ALA-APA. She is an active member of the Public Library Association (PLA), Association of College and Research Librarians (ACRL) and the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA). McCauley holds a BA from Ohio Wesleyan University, an MLIS from the University of Pittsburgh, and a PhD from Simmons College in Boston.

AASL, ACRL, LITA, PLA, and RUSA are divisions of the ALA.  

The ALA Executive Board manages the affairs of the Association. It is composed of the president, president-elect, immediate past president, treasurer, executive director and eight members elected by Council from among the members of that body. For more information on the Executive Board, please visit