New Workshop: Building Effective Relationships with Schools

For Immediate Release
Tue, 02/21/2017

Contact:

Colton Ursiny

Administrative Assistant

ALA Publishing

cursiny@ala.org

CHICAGO—ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions announces an exciting new workshop, Building Effective Relationships with Schools with Jessica Anne Bratt. This workshop will consist of two 90-minute sessions and take place on:

  • Wednesday, April 19, 2017, 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific
  • Wednesday, April 26, 2017, 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific

With budget and staff cuts decimating school libraries, public libraries are being asked more and more to work directly with schools in the community. Are you interested in starting a partnership with schools in your community? Do you need inspiration for new partnership initiatives?

Join us in this two-part workshop as we delve into how to create, start, and sustain a successful school-library partnership. You’ll learn how to address both challenges and concerns within a school district's culture and your organization. Throughout the workshop, you’ll gain valuable tips and strategies that will help you meet the needs of a school district without giving up your library’s mission. Most importantly, you’ll find out how to successfully implement initiatives with a modest budget and collect data to advocate for and pursue larger funding options. 

Learning Outcomes:

After participating in this workshop, you will

  • Understand how your library can bring an extension of resources and services into public schools, successfully connecting both your library’s and their school’s mission.
  • Have the tools to tailor the example initiative discussed to fit your school-library partnership
  • Assess the impact and outcome of your partnership
  • Be ready to advocate for collaboration between the school district and public library

About the Instructor

Jessica Anne Bratt is a Branch Manager at The Grand Rapids Public Library. She began a partnership (DigiBridge) between Grand Rapids Public Schools and the Grand Rapids Public Libraries, which received her a 2016 Library Journal Mover & Shaker Award. She has presented nationally on collaborations between schools and libraries, engaging teens in literacy through technology, and reader’s advisory gap for tweens and young adults. She will be serving on the 2019 Coretta Scott King Book Award Jury Committee.

Registration for this ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions Workshop is available on the ALA Store. You can purchase registration at both individual and group rates.

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions Workshops offer a convenient, hands-on learning experience that will help you and your colleagues make the best decisions for your library. This workshop is licensed for use by staff or users of the purchasing institution or library organization.

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions (ELS) produces high-quality professional development events and materials for the library profession. ELS events cover modern issues on a wide variety of topics in formats that include live workshops, asynchronous eCourses, and print publications. We help ensure that today’s library employees have access to the professional development opportunities they need, whether they are brushing up on the basics or expanding their horizons with cutting-edge tools. Contact us at elsmarketing@ala.org.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.