Karen Kiorpes receives Banks Harris Preservation Award

For Immediate Release
Thu, 02/16/2017


Keri Cascio

Executive Director

Association for Library Collections & Technical Services


CHICAGO—Karen Kiorpes is the recipient of the 2017 Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award. This award is given annually by the Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS). Sponsored by Preservation Technologies, L.P., the award consists of $1,500 and a citation. Kiorpes’ consistent leadership, service, advocacy and dedication to preservation education embodies the qualities of the Banks Harris Award.

Kiorpes’ leadership and service, particularly her exemplary service on behalf of PARS and ALCTS, is especially notable. She has served as PARS chair, as a member of the Library Resources & Technical Services (LRTS) editorial board and chaired numerous other committees and programs. Her colleagues deeply appreciate Kiorpes’ mentorship and her role as an ambassador for PARS. In their letters of support, colleagues repeatedly describe her as a “tireless advocate” and an energetic and welcoming leader.

Kiorpes’ contributions to local and regional preservation efforts are substantial. Her passionate dedication to preservation outreach and education is evident in her commitment to providing preservation assessments and presentations for smaller institutions and professional associations. Her significant research and publications reflect her interest in providing clear preservation guidance and integrating preservation into the fabric of libraries. 

A dedicated teacher and mentor, Kiorpes has made important and lasting contributions to continuing education and professional development in the field through her early contributions to “Preservation 101” (an online, web-based preservation course provided by Northeast Document Conservation Center) and her development of “Fundamentals of Preservation,” an online course offered by ALCTS. 

It is truly fitting that Kiorpes, who won the 2003 ALCTS Esther J. Piercy Award for new leaders in the field, has continued and expanded her leadership to receive the Banks Harris Award in 2017.

The Banks-Harris Preservation Award honors the memories of Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris, early leaders in library preservation and teachers and mentors for many in the field of preservation. The award will be presented on June 24 at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony at the 2017 American library Association’s Annual Conference and Exhibition in Chicago.

The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) is the national association for information providers who work in collections and technical services such as acquisitions, cataloging, collection development, preservation and continuing resources in digital and print formats. ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association.