ALA Youth Media Awards


The 2010 ALA Youth Media Awards announcements took place from the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center on Jan. 18, at 7:45 a.m.

More than 6,500 viewed the ALA Youth Media Awards  Webcast.

The ALA Island in Second Life will provide an  encore presentation of the Youth Media Awards Webcast on demand. Visitors can take advantage of in-world viewing on the ALA Island at the Main Stage. The ALA Island/ALA Main Stage is located at 128, 107, 29.  In Second Life, teleport there directly at .

2010 ala yma emcees

Loida García Febo,  President, REFORMA; Linda  W. Braun, President, YALSA; Thom  Barthelmess, President, ALSC; Deborah Taylor,  Chair, Coretta Scott King Book Awards Committee; and Camila Alire, President, ALA.


Press Releases

Latino authors and illustrators honored for outstanding works in children’s literature

Rendirán homenaje a escritores e ilustradores hispanos por sus notables obras de literatura infantil

2010 Batchelder Award honors Delacorte Press for "A Faraway Island"

2010 Schneider Family Book Awards recipients named

ALA launches lifetime achievement award recognizing African Americans' contributions to literature for youth

American Library Association announces literary award winners

"Charles and Emma" wins inaugural YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

"Flash Burnout" wins 2010 William C. Morris Award

Geoffrey Hayes, wins Geisel Award for "Benny and Penny in the Big No-No!"

"Going Bovine" Wins 2010 Printz Award

Jim Murphy wins 2010 Edwards Award

Lois Lowry to deliver 2011 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Rebecca Stead and Jerry Pinkney win Newbery, Caldecott Medals

Tanya Lee Stone wins 2010 Sibert Medal

Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, Charles R. Smith Jr. win 2010 Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Walter Dean Myers inaugural recipient of the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

Rafael López and Julia Alvarez win Pura Belpré Awards

YALSA announces 2010 Alex Awards

YALSA names first 2010 Nonfiction Award finalist

YALSA names 2010 William C. Morris Award shortlist