Youth Media Award 09 Press Releases

2009 ALA Youth Media Awards  



2009 ALA Youth Media Awards Webcast  

 The 2009 results were unveiled before a crowd of more than 1,500  at the Colorado Convention Center on Jan. 26, and more than 9,100 logged on to the Youth Media Awards Webcast. 


Press Releases

Wrap Press Release
American Library Association announces literary award winners

Alex Awards
YALSA announces 2009 Alex Awards

Andrew Carnegie Medal
Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly win 2009 Carnegie Medal for “MARCH ON! The Day My Brother Martin Changed the World”

Coretta Scott King Book Award
Kadir Nelson, Floyd Cooper win 2009 Coretta Scott King Awards

John Newbery Medal
Neil Gaiman, Beth Krommes win Newbery, Caldecott Medals

Larua Ingalls Wilder Award
Author and Illustrator Ashley Bryan wins 2009 Wilder Award

Margaret A. Edwards Award
Laurie Halse Anderson wins 2009 Edwards Award for significant and lasting contribution to young adult readers for “Catalyst”; “Fever 1793”; and “Speak”

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture
Kathleen T. Horning to deliver 2010 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Michael L. Printz Award
Melina Marchetta Wins 2009 Printz Award

Mildred L. Batchelder Award
2009 Batchelder Award honors Arthur A. Levine Books for “Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit”

Odyssey Award
Recorded Books wins 2009 Odyssey Award for “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian”

Pura Belpre Awards
Yuyi Morales, Margarita Engle win Pura Belpré Awards

Randolph Caldecott Medal
Neil Gaiman, Beth Krommes win Newbery, Caldecott Medals

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal
Kadir Nelson wins 2009 Sibert Medal

Schneider Family Book Award
2009 Schneider Family Book Awards recipients named

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
Mo Willems wins Geisel Award for “Are You Ready to Play Outside?”

William C. Morris Award
Elizabeth C. Bunce wins first-ever William C. Morris Award   


Before the Newbery, Caldecott, King, and ALA's other prestigious youth media awards were announced at the Midwinter Meeting in Denver, the selection committees crowded into tiny private rooms to call the honorees.  AL Focus was invited to capture some of those happy calls and reactions.