2013 Youth Media Award Winners

Left to Right: American Library Association (2012 – 2013) President Maureen Sullivan;  Young Adult Library Services Association President (2012- 2013) Jack Martin; Association for Library Service to Children President Carolyn Brodie; 2013 Chair of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards Committee Jonda McNair; and REFORMA President (2012- 2013) Denice Atkins 

Each year the American Library Association honors books, videos, and other outstanding materials for children and teens. Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, the ALA Youth Media Awards, including the prestigious Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, and Coretta Scott King Book Awards, guide parents, educators, librarians, and others in selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by committees composed of librarians and other literature and media experts, the awards encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media.

2013 Results
The 2013 announcements of the ALA Youth Media Awards took place at 8 a.m. PT on Jan. 28, from the Washington State Convention Center in Seattle.

An encore presentation of the ALA Youth Media Awards webcast is now available. To track media coverage and the latest news regarding 2013 selections please visit the ALA Youth Media Awards Facebook page,

2013 book cover artwork is available at http://tinyurl.com/ymabooks2013

Press Releases

American Library Association announces 2013 youth media award winners

'In Darkness' wins 2013 Printz Award

2013 Schneider Family Book Awards recipients named

Sheinkin wins 2013 Sibert Medal

David Díaz y Benjamín Alire Sáenz ganan premios Pura Belpré  (Spanish)

David Diaz, Benjamin Alire Sáenz win Pura Belpré Awards (English)

Demetria Tucker 2013 recipient of the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

Andrea Davis Pinkney, Bryan Collier win 2013 Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Brilliance Audio wins 2013 Odyssey Award for The Fault in Our Stars

‘Seraphina’ wins 2013 William C. Morris Award

Andrea Davis Pinkney to deliver 2014 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

‘Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon’ wins 2013 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

Katherine Paterson Wins 2013 Wilder Award

Tamora Pierce wins 2013 Edwards Award for Song of the Lioness series and The Protector of the Small quartet

Katja Torneman wins 2013 Carnegie Medal for ‘Anna, Emma and the Condors’

David Diaz, Benjamin Alire Sáenz win Pura Belpré Awards

Ethan Long wins Geisel Award for ‘Up, Tall and High!’

2013 Batchelder Award honors Dial Books  for ‘My Family for the War’

Newbery – Katherine Applegate, Jon Klassen win Newbery, Caldecott Medals

YALSA announces 2013 Alex Awards

Follow ALA Youth Media Award results live

YALSA names 2013 William C. Morris Award finalists

YALSA announces 2013 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults finalists

Sweet, Vaccaro Seeger to take part in 75th Caldecott Anniversary Facebook Forums


The Caldecott Medal 75th Anniversary 

2013 marks the 75th anniversary of the Randolph Caldecott Medal, which honors the illustrator of the year's most distinguished American picture book for children.  For generations Caldecott selections have fostered a love for reading among children and guide educators, parents and librarians in selecting the best of the best in children’s picture books. 

Presented every year since 1938, the medal is named for Randolph Caldecott, a 19th-century English illustrator known for the action, vitality and humor of his picture books. No other literary prize for children’s picture books has the economic significance as the Caldecott Medal. Receiving a Caldecott Medal practically guarantees that the winning title will remain in print and on library and bookstore shelves for decades to come.