Awards for Buildings and Interiors Committee

Community of Practice: Buildings and Equipment

Charge: To manage with the American Institute of Architects the annual ALA/AIA Library Building Awards and to manage with the International Interior Design Association the bi-annual ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards.


Mr. Jeffrey T. Bowen (Co-Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Mindy Sorg (Co-Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Joseph S. Agati (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Peter J. Bolek (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Anders C. Dahlgren (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Mr. Charles G. Forrest (Member, July 1, 2018, to July 31, 2020)
Jeanie Lai (Member, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021)

Displaying active committee roster as of 08/20/2019. Last retrieved on 08/20/2019. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Our Work


  • Planning and implementation of the annual building awards program
  • Planning and implementation of the bi-annual interior awards program
  • Selection of award jurors
  • Liaison/planning with the local AIA office, if applicable
  • Ongoing communication with AIA/staff
  • Ongoing communication with IIDA/staff

Expected Time Commitment:

  • Two hours for juror application review
  • Two hours per month from January-June for program planning
  • Two hours for the presentation at the Annual Conference

Desired skills, knowledge, and experience:

  • Experience in library architecture or building projects, or experience with library interior design projects
  • Familiarity with the ALA/AIA award or the ALA/IIDA award

Staff Contact and roles:

  • Kerry Ward,, 800-5454-2433, ext. 5036. Overall program management
  • Fred Reuland,, 800-545-2433, ext. 5032. Award program planning and scheduling, on-site logistics, press releases, etc.

Resources available: