LLAMA ALA/AIA Library Building Awards

Vancouver Community Library


2015 AIA/ALA Library Building Award Winner
Vancouver Community Library
Architect: The Miller Hull Partnership
Location: Vancouver, Washington

To encourage excellence in the architectural design and planning of libraries, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the American Library Association/Library Leadership and Management Association (ALA/LLAMA) created this award to distinguish accomplishments in library architecture.


See all the 2015 AIA/ALA Award Winners

2016 Awards Entry Information

The 2016 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards Call for Entries is now closed.  Please check back for 2017 entry information in Fall 2016. Any library building project designed by architects licensed in the United States is eligible for entry.  The libraries may be built anywhere in the world and the program is open to all types of libraries that permit public access. Libraries must have been completed since December 1, 2011, and occupied and in service by January 16, 2015.

2016 Awards Jury

Lynn S. Grossman, AIA (chair)
Cannon Design
St. Louis, Missouri      

Bradd Brown, AIA
OPN Architects, Inc.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Kathleen Imhoff
Building Consultant
Lexington, Kentucky

Ryan E. Kanteres, AIA
Scott Simons Architects
Portland, Maine

Susan Parker
UCLA Library
Los Angeles

Daro Willey
Rancho Palos Verdes, California

2016 Awards Presentation

Winning projects will be honored in June 2016 at the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando.

2018 Awards Juror Application

The application form for service on the 2017 Library Building Awards jury is now closed. The application for the 2018 jury will be available in Fall 2016 and due December 30, 2016.

Previous Competitions 

See the following for previous award winners:

2015 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards

2013 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards

2011 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards

2009 AIA/ALA Library Building Award Winners (pdf)

Winners since 1995


For more information about the awards, contact:

Elizabeth Henry, Director, AIA Awards
202-626-7563; ehenry@aia.org

Kerry Ward, LLAMA Executive Director
800-545-2433, ext. 5036; kward@ala.org