Getting Started with GIS

BlendedMultiple
Monday, 1/12/2015 - Monday, 2/9/2015
  • 9:00 AM-6:00 PM (Eastern)
  • 8:00 AM-5:00 PM (Central)
  • 7:00 AM-4:00 PM (Mountain)
  • 6:00 AM-3:00 PM (Pacific)

Getting Started with GIS is a three week course modeled on Eva Dodsworth's LITA Guide of the same name. The course provides an introduction to GIS technology and GIS (Geographic Information System) in libraries. Through hands on exercises, discussions and recorded lectures, students will acquire skills in using GIS software programs, social mapping tools, map making, digitizing, and researching for geospatial data. This three week course provides introductory GIS skills that will prove beneficial in any library or information resource position.

No previous mapping or GIS experience is necessary.  Some of the mapping applications covered include:

  • Introduction to Cartography and Map Making
  • Online Maps
  • Google Earth
  • KML and GIS files
  • ArcGIS Online and Story Mapping
  • Brief introduction to desktop GIS software

Learning Outcomes

Participants will gain the following GIS skills:

  • Knowledge of popular online mapping resources
  • ability to create an online map
  • an introduction to GIS, GIS software and GIS data
  • an awareness of how other libraries are incorporating GIS technology into their library services and projects

 

Who Should Attend

Librarians interested in mapping.

Instructor

Eva Dodsworth is the Geospatial Data Services Librarian at the University of Waterloo Library where she is responsible for the provision of leadership and expertise in developing, delivering, and assessing geospatial data services and programs offered to members of the University of Waterloo community.  Eva is also an online part-time GIS instructor at a number of Library School programs in North America.

Registration

Cost

  • LITA Member: $135
  • ALA Member: $195
  • Non-member: $260

Moodle login info will be sent to registrants the week prior to the start date.

How to Register

Registration is now open.  Courses are listed by date and you need to log in.

OR

Contact ALA Registration:  call 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org or submit print registration form [PDF]

Tech Requirements

Contact

For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration:  call 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org.

For all other questions or comments related to the course, contact LITA at (312) 280-4269 or lita@ala.org.

Fee

  • LITA Member: $135
  • ALA Member: $195
  • Non-member: $260

Moodle login info will be sent to registrants the week prior to the start date.