LITA/Library Hi Tech Award For Outstanding Communication for Continuing Education in Library and Information Science

The Library and Information Technology Association and Emerald Group Publishing Limited sponsor an annual LITA/Library Hi Tech Award for Outstanding Communication for Continuing Education in Library and Information Science. The award, a citation of merit, was offered for the first time in 1993. Emerald Press provides a stipend of $1,000.00 to the award winner each year.

The award may be given to an individual or institution for a single seminal work, or a body of work, taking place within (or continuing into) the five years preceding the award.

The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding achievement in educating the profession about cutting edge technology through communication in continuing education within the field of library and information technology.

Nominations for the award may be made by any member of the American Library Association. Nominations are invited and judged by the LITA / Library Hi Tech Awards Committee.

Nominations must include the name(s) of the recipient(s), basis for nomination, and references to the body of work and should be submitted using using the online nomination form before January 1.

The award will be presented at the LITA President's Program at the ALA Annual Conference.

The following distinguished people have received the Award to date:

  • Charles W. Bailey, Jr., University of Houston Libraries, Houston, TX, 1993
  • Ching-chih Chen, Simmons College, Boston, MA, 1994
  • Walt Crawford, The Research Libraries Group, Mountain View, CA, 1995
  • Continuing Education Services School of Library and Information Studies University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1996
  • Larry L. Learn, OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc., Dublin, OH, 1997
  • Michael Kaplan, Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington, IN, 1998
  • Ann S. Okerson, Yale University, New Haven, CT, 1999
  • Mark Hinnebusch, Florida Center for Library Automation, Gainesville, FL, 2000
  • The Digital Imaging and Preservation Research Unit of Cornell University Library, 2001
  • Illinois OCLC Users Group, 2002
  • Roy Tennant, University of California, Oakland, Oakland, CA, 2003
  • Eric Lease Morgan, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN, 2004
  • William Gosling,  University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, 2005
  • Patricia R. Harris,  Executive Director of the National Information Standards Organization (NISO), 2006
  • Priscilla Caplan, Florida Center for Library Automation, 2007
  • Helene Blowers, Columbus Metropolitan Library, 2008
  • Meredith Farkas, Norwich University, VT, 2009
  • Marshall Breeding, Vanderbilt University, 2010
  • John Wilkin, University of Michigan, 2011
  • Clifford Lynch, Coalition for Networked Information (CNI), 2012 
  • Brewster Kahle, 2013
  • Victoria Reich and David Rosentha, Stanford University Library, 2014
  • David Walker, California State University, 2015
  • Dan Cohen, Digital Public Library of America, 2016
  • Ellyssa Kroski, New York Law Institute, 2017
  • Heather Moulaison Sandy, University of Missouri, 2018
  • NCSU Libraries, North Carolina State University, 2019

Visit the LITA Awards & Scholarships page for information on additional LITA awards