LITA/Gaylord Award for Achievement in Library and Information Technology

Please note:  This award was discontinued after the 2003 award.

The Library and Information Technology Association and Gaylord Bros., Inc., sponsor an annual LITA/Gaylord Award for Achievement in Library and Information Technology. The award was offered for the first time in 1979. Gaylord Bros., Inc., includes a citation of merit and a stipend of $1,000.00 to the award winner each year.

The award is given to a practicing or retired librarian, and may be given to an individual or to a small group of individuals working in collaboration. There shall be no limit of time in regard to when the achievement was completed. Organized institutions or parts of organized institutions as such are ineligible for the award. LITA Officers, other members of the LITA Board of Directors, members of the LITA/ Gaylord Awards Committee, employees of Gaylord Bros., Inc., and their immediate family members are ineligible for the award.

The purpose of the award is to recognize distinguished leadership in technology, notable developments of applications of technology, superior accomplishment in research or education or original contribution to literature in the field.

Nominations for the award may be made by any member of the American Library Association. Nominations are invited and judged by the LITA/Gaylord Awards Committee. A press release from the LITA office will announce the details of the nominating process each year.

The Awards Committee is not required to select a recipient if, in the opinion of the Committee, no nomination merits the award in a given year.

The award will be presented at the LITA President's Program at the ALA Annual Conference.

The following distinguished people have received the award to date:

  • Frederick G. Kilgour, Online Computer Library Center (OCLC), Dublin, OH, 1979
  • Henriette D. Avram, Library of Congress, Washington, DC, 1980
  • Maurice J. Freedman, Columbia University, New York, NY, 1981
  • Philip L. Long, INFOTECH, Salt Lake City, UT, 1982
  • Lawrence E. Buckland, Inforonics, Inc., Littleton, MA, 1983
  • Roger K. Summit, Dialog Inf. Services, Inc., Palo Alto, CA, 1984
  • James A. Aagaard, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, 1985
  • Velma D. Veneziano, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, 1985
  • No Award Made for 1986
  • Dennis Beaumont, Information Design, Mountain View, CA, 1987
  • Bela Hatvany, SilverPlatter, London, England, 1987
  • Barbara E. Markuson, INCOLSA, Indianapolis, IN, 1988
  • Patricia B. Culkin, CARL, Denver, CO, 1989
  • Ward Shaw, CARL, Denver, CO, 1989
  • Ching-chih Chen, Simmons College, Boston, MA, 1990
  • Clifford A. Lynch, University of California, Oakland, CA, 1991
  • James J. Michael, Data Research Associates, Inc., St. Louis, MO, 1992
  • Steve Cisler, Apple Computer Inc., Cupertino, CA, 1993
  • Davis B. McCarn, National Library of Medicine, Rockville, MD, 1994
  • No Award Made, 1995
  • Paul K. Sybrowsky, Dynix, Inc., Provo, UT, 1996
  • D. Keith Wilson, Dynix, Inc., Provo, UT, 1996
  • Paul Evan Peters, Coalition for Networked Information, Washington, DC., 1997
  • Ritvars Bregzis, University of Toronto, Retired, Toronto, Ontario, 1998
  • Sheila Creth, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, 1999
  • William Gray Potter, University of Georgia, Athens, GA, 2000
  • Louise Addis, Retired, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) at Stanford University, 2001
  • Sally McCallum, Network Development and MARC Standards Office (NDMSO), Library of Congress, 2002
  • Patricia J. Cutright, Library Director, Pierce Library, Eastern Oregon University, 2003