LITA / Christian Larew Memorial Scholarship Committee


To solicit nominations and select a qualified student to be the recipient of this scholarship to pursue a master's level ALA accredited degree with an emphasis in library and information technology.


Donald Depoorter (Chair, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Camilla Y. Fulton (Past-Chairperson, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Amy I. Kornblau (Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Kelly J. Sattler (Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Michael Ervin (Liaison, July 1, 1999, to June 30, 2012)
Mr. David Lee King (Board Liaison, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Melissa Prentice (Liaison, July 1, 2001, to March 10, 2014)
Valerie Edmonds-Merritt (Primary Staff Liaison, July 1, 2006, to May 1, 2015)
Melissa Prentice (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2013)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2011. Last retrieved on 06/25/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Committee completes it work electronically. No face-to-face meetings are necessary. The committee receives copies of completed applications in the spring and selects the winners after conferring via e-mail.  Appointment is for one year with no reappointment the following year, except that one member may be appointed chair for the following year and the immediate past chair serves as an advisor.


If anyone can contribute information about the history of this committee, send it to LITA's Web Coordinating Committee at

Get Involved

LITA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on this committee. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee, be able to participate in Committee meetings when scheduled, e.g., Annual Conferences, Midwinter Meetings, or other times of the year as needed and, be able to contribute to the activities of the committee Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out the application form. Generally, appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1, for two year terms. Exceptions to this include the LITA National Forum Planning Committee (18 months before the Forum through the December after the Forum), the Nominating Committee (18 months before the election through the election) and, the Awards and Scholarships committees (one year terms).