Board of Directors


LITA is governed by an elected Board of Directors that includes the President, President-Elect, Past President, a LITA Councilor, and seven directors-at-large. Ex-officio members of the Board include the Bylaws and Organization Committee chair, who serves as the Parliamentarian, and the Financial Advisory Committee chair.

 Picture of the 2016-17 LITA Board


Aimee Fifarek (LITA President, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017)
Ms. Andromeda Yelton (LITA President-Elect, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017)
Thomas P. Dowling (LITA Past President, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017)
S.G. Ranti Junus (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2017)
Bohyun Kim (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2017)
Christopher Lawton (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2019)
Ms. Susan Sharpless Smith (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2018)
Jennifer Emanuel Taylor (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2017)
Mr. Ken Varnum (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2018)
Evviva R. Weinraub (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2019)
Mr. Aaron W. Dobbs (LITA Division Councilor, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2019)
Dr. H. Frank Cervone (Parliamentarian, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017)
Jenny Levine (LITA Executive Director, August 3, 2015, to June 30, 2020)
Mark A. Beatty (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2020)
Mrs. Christine Peterson (Financial Advisory Committee, April 26, 2017, to June 30, 2017)

Displaying active committee roster as of 04/29/2017. Last retrieved on 04/29/2017. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Board of Directors shall consist of the President, the Vice-president (President-elect), the immediate Past President, the ALA Councilor, and seven Directors-at-Large. The Executive Director and the chair of the Financial Advisory Committee shall be ex-officio members of the Board, without vote. The chair of the Bylaws and Organization Committee shall also serve in an ex-officio role as the Parliamentarian. Other ex-officio members as shall from time to time be so designated by action of the board, shall not have the right to vote.
 Fun picture of the 2015-16 LITA Board

Subcommittees & Task Forces

2016 - 2017 Board Liaisons for Committees and Task Forces

  • 50th Anniversary Task Force: Thomas Dowling and Aimee Fifarek
  • Appointments Committee: Andromeda Yelton
  • Assessment and Research Committee: Christopher Lawton
  • Committee and Interest Groups Coordinators: Bohyun Kim
  • Communications and Marketing: Aimee Fifarek (Fall 2016), Jenny Taylor (Spring 2017)
  • Diversity and Inclusion Committee: Evviva Weinraub
  • Education Committee: Ken Varnum
  • Forum Assessment Task Force: Christopher Lawton
  • Forum 2016 Planning: Thomas Dowling
  • Forum 2017 Planning: Aimee Fifarek
  • ITAL Editorial Board: Thomas Dowling
  • LITA Local Task Force: Susan Sharpless Smith
  • LITA Representatives: Bohyun Kim
  • Membership Development Committee: Susan Sharpless Smith
  • Metadata Standards: Ranti Junus
  • Nominating Committee: Aimee Fifarek
  • Personas Task Force: Bohyun Kim
  • Program Planning Committee: Ranti Junus
  • Publications Committee: Thomas Dowling
  • Scholarship and Award Committees: Jenny Levine
  • Top Technology Trends Committee: Ranti Junus
  • Web Coordinating Committee: Jenny Taylor
Forum16 = DowlingI


The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Division. See LITA History for additional information on the origins of the Division.

Get Involved

Get Involved with the Board

  • Attend Board meetings online or at Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings (check the Board's ALA Connect group for meeting times and locations)
  • Contact Board members (sign into this page and refresh it to see full contact information).

Get Involved with LITA