Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award Committee

The Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award, which consists of $500 and a certificate, is presented biannually for the best published work in the area of intellectual freedom. Members of the Oboler Award Committee review the books and journal articles submitted for consideration and determine which piece of writing to honor. They are experts in the field; reading the submissions enhances their expertise on the subject of intellectual freedom enormously. Committee members are in excellent positions to appreciate the dynamic landscape of intellectual freedom and its implications for both the library community and the wider community.


Mr. James K. Teliha (Chair, June 30, 2010, to June 26, 2012)
Liza Barry-Kessler (Member, June 28, 2011, to July 2, 2013)
Lauren Christos (Member, June 28, 2011, to July 2, 2012)
Dr. Robert P. Holley (Member, July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2012)
Ian Ross Hughes (Member, June 28, 2011, to July 2, 2013)
Dr. Marguerite Ragnow (Member, June 30, 2011, to June 30, 2013)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2011. Last retrieved on 05/27/2016. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Staff Liaison

Shumeca Pickett
50 E Huron St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312-280-4220 or 800-545-2433, ext. 4220
Fax: 312-280-4227