Committee on Professional Ethics (COPE)


The council committee on professional ethics shall augment the Code of Ethics by explanatory interpretations and additional statements, prepared by this committee or elicited from other units of ALA. When units of the association develop statements dealing with ethical issues, a copy will be sent to the committee on professional ethics for review so that it may be compared to the existing ALA code of ethics in order to determine whether or not conflicts occur.


Mrs. Rosanne Marie Cordell (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Sara Dallas (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Mr. Scott P. Muir (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Mr. Steven Phalen (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Ms. Ivy Noelle Weir (Intern, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Kristin Pekoll (Staff Liaison, February 1, 2015, to February 1, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2016. Last retrieved on 05/24/2015. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Committee on Professional Ethics (COPE) consists of 7 members appointed by the Council Committee on Committees, in cooperation with the ALA President-Elect.  Members serve a 2 year term and the Committee is led by the chair.