ALA Committee on Legislation (COL)


To have full responsibility for the association's total legislative program on all levels: federal, state, and local. To recommend legislative policy and programs for council approval and to take the necessary steps for implementation. To protest any legislative or executive policy adversely affecting libraries. To seek rulings and interpretations of laws and regulations affecting the welfare and development of libraries. To represent the ALA before the executive and legislative branches of government as required at all levels. To provide a forum within ALA to gather information about needed legislation and to keep all units of the association informed of the ALA legislative programs. To direct the activities of all units of the association in matters relating to legislation.


Shirley A. Bruursema (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Mary L. Hastler (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Kenton L. Oliver (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Eileen M. Palmer (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Mr. James K. Teliha (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Patricia A. Tumulty (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Mr. Justin Lee Baumgartner (Intern, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Adam M. Eisgrau (Staff, July 1, 2014, to September 1, 2020)
Stephen Mayeaux (Staff, May 11, 2015, to May 11, 2020)
Jessica McGilvray (Staff, July 1, 2008, to September 1, 2020)
YaShica Robinson (Staff, May 11, 2015, to July 1, 2020)
Emily Sheketoff (Staff, July 1, 2008, to July 1, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2016. Last retrieved on 05/29/2015. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.



To consist of 15 members having staggered terms. Chairpersons are appointed annually. Each year the president-elect of ALA appoints the chair and new members to fill the staggered terms of about half of the COL membership.