Conference Committee


1) To recommend additions and changes to ALA Policy A.7 (Conferences and Meetings) as appropriate; 2) To recommend policies to Council for the coordination and scheduling of conference programming and for simplification of meeting scheduling, including use of technologies; 3) To recommend to Council policies guiding the selection of Conference and Meeting sites and dates; 4) To review recommendations of specific sites and dates prior to their presentation by Conference Services to the ALA Executive Board; and 5) To recommend to Council and to ALA staff a means for communications with the membership to hear their concerns about Conference and Meeting procedures and policies.


Clara Nalli Bohrer (Chair, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017)
Peter D. Hepburn (Executive Board Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Stacy Alesi (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Clara Nalli Bohrer (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Michael P. Santangelo (Councilor-at-Large, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018)
Hannah Kyung Lee (Chapter Councilor, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Ms. Melissa Iamonico (Intern, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Meghan Anne Sullivan (Intern, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018)
Amy McGuigan (Staff Liaison, June 30, 2012, to June 30, 2020)
Alee Navarro (Staff Liaison, June 30, 2014, to June 30, 2020)
Ms. Mary W. Ghikas (Staff, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2016. Last retrieved on 05/28/2016. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


Ten (10) Members, which includes the Chair

  • 1 representative from Executive Board;
  • 1 Exhibits Round Table representative, appointed by ERT;
  • 3 Division representatives, to be selected by the divisions in a manner which they jointly find appropriate;
  • 2 Council representatives (1 at-large, 1 chapter), to be appointed by the President-elect
  • 1 Round Table representative (excluding ERT), elected by Round Table Coordinating Committee;
  • 2 Association members appointed by the President-elect;

In addition as ex-officio members: the ALA Senior Associate Executive Director, Member Programs and Services, and the ALA Director of Conference Services

Subcommittees & Task Forces