Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & ALA: An Equitable Future for Libraries and the Profession

Tuesday, 5/15/2018
  • 2:30 PM-3:30 PM (Eastern)
  • 1:30 PM-2:30 PM (Central)
  • 12:30 PM-1:30 PM (Mountain)
  • 11:30 AM-12:30 PM (Pacific)

This webinar covers the work of ALA’s Task Force on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (TFEDI) and the subsequent group, the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Implementation Working Group (EDI-IWG), to nurture the values of equity, diversity, inclusion and social justice within the American Library Association (ALA). In 2016, TFEDI developed a plan and strategic actions to build more equity, diversity, and inclusion among ALA members, the field of librarianship, and our communities. As these recommendations shifted to the initial stewardship of EDI-IWG in 2016 to 2018, we continue the public and honest conversations that help keep these issues at the forefront. Working Group members LaJuan Pringle and Melissa Cardenas-Dow will present the recommendations in the context of the future of librarianship, the future of EDI work within ALA, and the future of information services to our communities within the United States. All library workers will benefit from learning how they can contribute to this important work.

 

Learning Outcomes

Participants will:

  1. Become familiar with the recommendations of the EDI Task Force and Working Group 
  2. Learn how they can contribute to Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion work

Who Should Attend

Anyone interested in learning more about EDI work in the context of librarianship, the Association, and information services to our communities

Speakers

Melissa Cardenas-Dow is a social sciences librarian at Sacramento State University. She is currently a co-chair of the ALA Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Implementation Working Group, a member of the ALA Nominating Committee, and a Councilor-at-Large. She is currently working with the Joint Conference of Librarians of Color (JCLC) as the Graphics Design Coordinator within the JCLC Public Relations Committee. 

LaJuan Pringle is a branch manager with Charlotte Mecklenburg Library. He was an original member of the ALA Task Force on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion. He currently serves as a member of the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Implementation Working Group. Also, LaJuan chairs both the Social Responsibilities Round Table, Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday Task Force, and the Committee on Legislation, Grassroots Subcommittee.

Registration

Cost

Free

How to Register

A recording of the webinar may be accessed at http://ala.adobeconnect.com/p33z52ez0suh/.

 

 

Tech Requirements

  • Headset, computer speakers, or phone to call in
  • Access to Adobe Connect

Contact

Please contact the Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services at diversity@ala.org with questions.