Stonewall Book Awards

About the Stonewall Book Awards The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered experience.

Administered by:

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Round Table logo

Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award

2013 Honor(s)

Eminent Outlaws: The Gay Writers Who Changed America

written by Christopher Bram and published by Twelve

When We Were Outlaws: A Memoir of Love & Revolution

written by Jeanne Cordova and published by Spinsters Ink

Why Are Faggots So Afraid of Faggots?: Flaming Challenges to Masculinity, Objectification, and the Desire to Conform

written by Matilda Bernstein Sycamore and published by AK Press

Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal

written by Jeanette Winterson and published by Grove Press